The Soup Bowl

Tidbits about Jillibean Soup and the life behind the bowl…

A little bit of everything… December 17, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — jyeger @ 2:32 pm

News, prayer requests, card request, a sneak peek and a giveaway…a little bit of everything…

You know it’s bad when I could not remember my log-in id for the blog. 😦   New Year’s Resolution for 2010: Better Blogger :).  I think I have too many outlets to post what’s going on in our everyday life and it’s just too much.  Facebook is going to have to suffer.  Tee Hee.

As we approach the Winter Craft and Hobby show, we have LOTS going on!  Travel plans, booth reservations, booth changes, design team assignments and new products – not to mention all the holiday stuff as well!   The show is in Anaheim again so I’m looking forward to a little sunshine.  Also, I love the breakfasts at the Embassy Suites!  I’m really looking forward to having an omlet made for me every morning.  Yum.  Oh, and free happy hour too!  Can’t beat that!   And of course spending time with friends. 🙂  Soooo, what about NEW products – you ask and where are they?  We’ll I thought I would share one little quick sneak peek – it’s my favorite piece of paper from all of our new lines and it makes me smile everytime I see it.  I should really carry it in my pocket or something.

It’s from my Old World Cabbage Soup line and I LOVE it!!!  My favorite line to date. 

We are discontinuing several lines now, including all of our first kraft lines.  If there’s something you absolutely love, you may want to get it before it’s all gone. 😦

Prayer Requests – this time of year is very difficult for some people.  The holidays should bring joy but to some it brings sadness as they remember the loss of a loved one that may not be at the dinner table this season.  If you have a minute or two say a prayer for these familes.  I have a few extras as well…

* This from my SIL Kathy:

A friend’s daughter is a senior in HS and has been having a difficult time for the last several years.  As of this past year, it has resulted in panic attacks and more recently, hallucinations.  There is some concern that she may have been abused by a school employee.  After recommendation from several psychiatrists and therapists, she is currently in an inpatient rehabilitation facility for 90 days (thousands of miles from her home).  In addition to all the stress with trying to figure out what has happened and the best treatment for her, now there is also a financial burden.  I’m sure the holidays will be especially difficult, as she is an only child.  It is my understanding that they will only be able to see her for a few hours on Christmas day, even if they travel that far.  The family needs everyone’s prayer.  Thanks.

 

 

* My friend Missey’s sister could use your prayers.  Her husband recently lost his job.  What a horrible time to lose your job – I couldn’t even imagine.  Please say couple of prayers for this family as well.

* One other note…I got this message from my friend Holly…

My cousin Nate Elfrink is 7 ½ years old and has been fighting cancer his entire life.  They thought the tumor was finally gone earlier this year, but we found out last week that it has returned and is growing more rapidly than ever.  Unfortunately, there is not much more they can do for him.  His last wish is to receive as many Christmas Cards as possible, (hopefully 1 million)!    If you get a moment, could you please send a Christmas card to Nate?  

Here’s his address:

 NATE ELFRINK
2415 TAYLOR BLAIR ROAD
WEST JEFFERSON, OH 43162

If you have a moment, can you send Nate a card? UPDATE: The family has said they have received enough cards but are asking people to make a donation in Nate’s name to the Children’s Hospital of Columbus.  You can read more information here.  Thanks Holly D. for the update.

 

 

Switching gears – so sorry for the random post.  How about a giveaway?  It’s been a while!  I have some new samples sitting in a box just waiting to get used.  If you would like to get NEW product before it’s even on the market, leave a comment.  Nothing special, just a note.  Random.org will pick a winner on December 25th.  Christmas here in the states. 

Good Luck and thanks in advance for your prayers.

 

63 Responses to “A little bit of everything…”

  1. Janet B Says:

    I’ll definitely keep those in my prayers–those you’ve mentioned and all those that are having a hard time this holiday season.

    Thanks for the great giveaway. There is nothing better than new Jillibean soup product. Woohoo!

  2. Amy Coose Says:

    Those people will definitely be in my prayers. I am actually leaving right now to go see my grandfather. He had a stroke this morning, so I would appreciate prayers, too.

  3. Michelle A. Says:

    My prayers are going out to all.

    Thanks for the chance to win some yummy jillibean goodies! Love the sneak peek.

    Happy Holidays to you!

  4. djp Says:

    oooh love the paper!
    saying prayers.
    merry christmas ya big ‘soup!

  5. VickiF Says:

    Thank you for such a grounding post. It’s easy to get caught up in the holidays and forget that there are others that are struggling. I am going to get a Christmas card off in the mail today to that precious boy. May God Bless him!

  6. Cass Says:

    I’ll pop a Christmas card for Nate in the mail this afternoon. May God’s blessings and comfort be with everyone this Christmas.

  7. Gotta love omelets and happy hour!!!! Maybe not together tho! LOL!! Good times!

    Jill, you know I’m a die hard fan, but that sneak peek is more than awesome! I am so giddy with excitement, I can’t wait to see the new lines!

    Thoughts and prayers going out to your family and friends.

  8. love that bird paper!!

  9. carriegel Says:

    I will keep them in my prayers.

  10. Lana Says:

    I am thinking of all those people who are struggling at Christmas, and about how lucky I am to have my family and my health.

    Merry Christmas and thanks for the chance to win!

  11. zaza11 Says:

    saying prayers too!!
    the paper is so amazing !

  12. vitoria Says:

    Prayers going out to your family
    Have a happy christmas

  13. isabel Says:

    Incredible paper, i NEED it 😉
    And I send to your family a lot of prayers and thoughts

  14. guillauma Says:

    All my prayers for Nate (and a card !)
    Thanks for the chance to win some JBS products

  15. mia Says:

    Alright, first things first ~ I would definitely carry that pp around in your pocket if I was you!!!! Gorgeous!!!!

    (winning some would be awesome then I too could carry some in my pocket!) LOL

    I have said a prayer for each of the above and will send a card to Nate too 🙂

  16. Jingle Says:

    Just prayed for your requests. It sounds like you have lots to look forward to!

  17. First off, that paper is adorable and I can’t wait to see more.

    Second of all, I know that this time of year can be so hard for people and my prayers go out to those you mentioned and so many more. I have a friend whose dad is dying from brain cancer and this will be his last Christmas with them. I can’t even imagine…We are all so very blessed. Merry Christmas to you and your family.

  18. HollyD Says:

    Nate’s family has received thousands of cards … they don’t want any more. 🙂

    http://www.columbusmessenger.com/NC/0/7519.html

    So awesome that so many people responded!

  19. Linda Says:

    Hi Jill!! as always awesome products!! Havent had much time for scrapping lately but its my New Years resolution!! My prayers go out the all the families in need this Christmas, whether they just need a hug or more. Ours will be a bit difficult with the loss of my Mom but we will get thru it . Kathy and Ron do *make* the best Christmas trees don’t they? TY for the chance for Jillibean things!!! Have a great Holiday!!

  20. Cindy C. Says:

    Love the projects you posted on the Jillibean Soup blog today! Thanks for sharing. Will send out some extra prayers.

  21. {vicki} Says:

    I put a card in the mail to Nate.

    Thanks for the chance at a great giveaway!

  22. Lynette C Says:

    Missey’s sister family and Holly’s cousin Nate will be in my prayers. And I love to win the new products from you. Thank you.

  23. scrapper al Says:

    Thanks for the sneak peek and giveaway. My heart goes out to those having a difficult time, especially during this holiday season.

  24. Suzie College Says:

    In this time of hustle and bustle, it’s so easy to feel overwelmed with all of the ‘little things’. It’s always sobering to see the issues that other folks are going through. I’ll be sure to keep those folks in my prayers.

    Have a blessed holiday – Merry Christmas & Happy New Year!

  25. Holiday Prayers all around, my friends and I just did a food drive last week and it felt good to do something for some who actually needs it. Thanks for the give away It would be an awesome christmas gift to get my hands on the new release, I love creating with your stuff. Merry Christmas.

  26. Jayne Morgan Says:

    My thoughts and prayers are with all those mentioned. Wishing you all a Holiday filled with Love.

  27. Diana Says:

    Hi Jill – thank you so much for the wonderful job you’re doing with Jillibean Soup! I love all of your products! Happy Holidays!

  28. Joli Says:

    I hope all the families you mentioned will have a wonderful Christmas – they deserve it!!!

    I am loving the new paper!!! I can’t wait to see more!

  29. rebecca keppel Says:

    Good thoughts for all 🙂

    And I would LOVE LOVE LOVE some new product, PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE!!!!! Those little bird houses are truly wonderful, I can see why they make you smile 🙂

  30. Kim M Says:

    Prayers for all those listed. Glad you reminded me of how blessed I am this holiday season. On another note, I LOVE< LOVE that peek of the new line, it is fab!!!!

  31. Lorelle Says:

    It is too bad that we have to be reminded how we lucky we are sometimes …. thinking of everyone in need of positive thoughts this Holiday Season.
    Happy Holidays to all 🙂

  32. DeniseB Says:

    Makes me thankful to read your note and see how fortunate I am, in comparison to some others. My thoughts go out to those with health problems, financial worries, job and housing situations.
    On the lighter side, your sneak peek is charming! It is a very fun paper. Can’t wait to see what else is coming, and I would be delighted to win a prize. Thanks so much for the chance!
    DeniseB

  33. Heather H Says:

    This is absolutely the cutest piece of paper. I would definitely love to have some of the new product to try out.

  34. Lisa J. Says:

    That is an adorable sneak but most importantly please know your requests for prayer will not go unnoticed. Thank you for all that you do!

  35. Melanie C Says:

    Love the sneak peek….I quite sure I will NEED that new line 🙂

  36. Dani Says:

    Thanks for the giveaway. We prayed for your friends 🙂
    And Merry Christmas! (in advance :D)

  37. Janet Zeppa Says:

    You realize how lucky you are when you hear stories like those.

    Your preview is adorable!!!

  38. Jessica Says:

    Jill that sneak looks great and I will defintely be praying! Hope you have a fabulous holiday with your family!

  39. conniemelancon Says:

    Keeping all in my prayers! Have a Merry Christmas!

  40. Prayers going out.
    You have such a caring heart Jill. So blessed to have met you.
    Hugs my friend!
    -kimber

  41. Jolene Says:

    I’m a bird nerd, so I especially love the paper! Merry Christmas!

  42. Angela L. Says:

    I will be saying a special prayer for those in need! A couple of weeks ago, my family got the news that my Father has Cancer in his back and Small Intestine. Since it’s too much, the only possible hope is a very aggresive treatment. I’ve been walking around like a zombie since this news so my heart really goes out to anyone that I hear is ill or going through difficulty! Thank you for being such a caring person to mention these cases so we can all come together as prayer warriors! Also, I am grateful for the chance to win your generous giveaway.

  43. Cynthia B. Says:

    Prayers sent. So rough to hear the hardships people go through in what’s supposed to be a festive time of year.
    Thanks also for the sneak peek – I’m intrigued, and I know I can’t go wrong with Jillibean products.
    Thanks, Jill!

  44. Great preview… and we’re glad to hear from you.

  45. Jodi Says:

    love the preview!!! super cute!

  46. Rhonda V. Says:

    Thoughts and prayers going up for those who are missing family members, asking for peace, bounty and blessings to all!

  47. Christa P. Says:

    I will definitely keep them in my prayers, especially right now.

    Love the paper-can’t wait to see the rest!

  48. Victoria S. Says:

    I will def be praying for those in need – I am a Breast Cancer survivor so i know how important and helpful prayer is!
    Would love to win your samples!

  49. Joan C Says:

    I love the sneek peak! I just clicked your link from a friend on Life Preserver and ended up on this site. What a blessing to see a site that shares the wonderful scrappy things and also the love of Jesus. I will keep those mentioned above in my prayers. Have a Blessed Christmas!

  50. Lisa Says:

    As soon as I saw that paper I sent this post to my friend with the titled “I MUST HAVE THIS PAPER!”

    I am addicted to your designs, your paper materials, everything.

    Thanks for the chance to win.

  51. Tracy Says:

    I hope my prayers go as far as you need them.
    Thanks for being an inspiration to us. :O)

  52. Dawn J Says:

    It’s easy with all the hype on TV to believe that all is well with the world. This holiday season as it should be most of the time, we should all remember to pray for someone who is going thru the most challenging time of their lives. Thanks for the reminders.

  53. Kat Says:

    Just stumbled across your blog today. I did a search for Jillybean Soup and ultimately ended up here. So glad that I did. That birdhouse paper really is cute…I’m excited to see what else you have coming out 🙂

    I will definitely pray for your friends.

    Have a very merry Christmas!

  54. Jill Amon-Jones Says:

    I come by once in a while to see what is going on. I love scrapping. (Don’t have time to do it often) Can’t wait to see you in April in Michigan. So happy for you, your family and business! Hello from PA!

    Have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!!

  55. ana liter Says:

    I just bought some your papers love them….Hope to buy moe of your collections

  56. I am really interested in see’n the rest of the line .. I LOVE what I see so far .. and prayers also for the troops my comrads … that are out there all over abroad to include Kuwait, Pakistan, Iraq, Bosnia etc .. this holiday season .. some NEVER hear from family or receive as much as a card ..

    xoxo

  57. Hester Says:

    Hope you have a good time at the show! I love the new paper and i am already looking forward to see the rest !
    Happy christmas to all of you!

  58. karen keiper Says:

    Yes Christmas is a time when everyone needs to look over their shoulder to see if theres any one there that needs a helping hand.

  59. Roberta Says:

    That birdhouse paper is gorgeous. Please enter me in the giveaway! I’ll be praying everyone on your list. Happy holidays!

  60. Juliana Says:

    So looking forward to CHA and the new release! That sneak is looking amazing and definitely on my list of must haves!!!
    You and your family are in my thoughts and prayers!!!
    My you have a blessed and Merry Christmas!!!!

  61. Robin O Says:

    My thoughts and prayer go out to everyone. Really love the sneak and can’t wait to see the whole line. Happy Holidays.

  62. Arianne Says:

    I’ll keep all of them (and you and your family) in my thoughts.


Leave a Reply

