The Soup Bowl

Tidbits about Jillibean Soup and the life behind the bowl…

Little Black Dress Friday – week 1 May 1, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — jyeger @ 6:58 pm
Tags:

Spaghetti Strap Dress by Unger for Ann Taylor

 

Thought I would forget – didn’t you?   Hmmm, not too much to tell other than I’m still working on my mental state.  I have managed to start eating less…I’m just not in dieting mode yet.  I’ve dieted MANY times before and when I’m in the “mode” I’m pretty strict and am usually successful.  Even though I’ve lost 2 lbs this week, I’m still not in the “mode”.  I do fine during the day and then at night I get stressed.  I’m usually working at night and usually stay up late.  All I want to do is eat.  I’ve started chewing gum (sugar-free – thanks Diana) and eating suckers (unfortunately, not sugar-free 😦 ) to try to keep me from eating.  Any suggestions?

 

Also, I can’t exercise right now – oh no!  I can walk but I can’t go spinning (which is my preferred type of exercise).   I had an ugly cyst removed from my back last week and I can’t sweat for another week or so (not to gross you out or anything).  Soooo, that’s my excuse for not working out. 😉 

 

Oh, and another thing…why do I have an addiction to bagels?  Most of you know I get my Tim Horton’s bagel every morning (or most mornings).  I can’t seem to stop.  It’s like I have to have one or I can’t function.  It’s all in my head!  Ugggh! 

 

Thanks for your comments last week…I’ve thought about many of them this week.  Heather – I really need to invest in the journal thing.  Kathy – I’m all about 1/2 point kisses!  Jennifer – I’ve read bits and pieces of “The Secret” a couple of years ago….maybe I should dust it off. 

 

Next week will be better – I’m sure! 

Have a great weekend!

jill_signature

 

6 Responses to “Little Black Dress Friday – week 1”

  1. Kathy Says:

    If you didn’t know, I started Weight Watchers about 6 weeks ago. So far, I’ve lost 13 pounds — can’t tell though. I still need to add the exercise part, but can find many reasons not to. Anyway, WW has these candies/gummies that are only 1 point for the whole pack (~12 in a pack). I’ve found that 2 or 3 of these (pieces, not packs!) hold me off for a little while. But beware there is a warning about “laxative effect” if you eat too many! Good luck!

  2. jan mosier Says:

    Congrats on losing the 2lbs.! Wish I could help you out about eating at night. I stink at diets! I do really, I’m not kidding. I figure since I don’t drink, don’t smoke, don’t eat out or go to the movies with girlfriends, don’t do a whole lot of shopping (except for scrap supplies) then why should I give up the one thing I love the most – FOOD! See, I told you I was no help! lol.

  3. Diana Says:

    so glad that the sugar-free gum is helping! sorry to hear about the cyst, good thing it was taken care of! About the eating at night…that’s a hard one! I try and tell myself after 9pm I don’t eat or drink anything. Most of the time this works…sometimes not. I get the munchies too–some ideas: try and have healthy things prepared. (ex. cut up carrots, or fruit, or pretzel measured in those 8 oz containers from ziploc–another biggest looser tip!) They also have those 100 calorie bags of treats–I know it’s not necessarily healthy but it might hit that craving at night. (I’ve had the oreos, lorna dunes, and chips ahoy–I like ’em.) I’ve also recently switched to the sugar free generic crystal light (at walmart). It helps when I want something sweet–I REALLY like the pink lemonade. Good luck! I know you can do it!! 🙂

  4. jenifer harkin Says:

    Well, I didn’t get on a scale yet because I’m scared too. But, I did work out 5 days this week….so, that should balance out the cookies right?:)

  5. Laura Says:

    I’m the worst at dieting. but, I thought I’d share that since I HAVE to eat within reason since I have to test my blood sugar 4 times a day and call my doctor every couple days with the results and then get a lecture if they aren’t where they’re supposed to be. Anyway. . .chocolate, I know we share a love. I don’t know if you’re a dark fan, but I’m “allowed” to eat a lot more of the Lindt 85% cacao — or I get the dark with the chili pepper (my favorite) — if you’re looking at carbs you can eat 4 large squares for one carb unit! 🙂 For drinks I do seltzer with a little cranberry juice. I also have a really yummy low carb shake that I do in the mornings that even Mark likes and is really filling and lasting (let me know if you want the recipe) — and lord knows I’m a bread junkie! 🙂
    You go girl! Love ya!

  6. laura vegas Says:

    i suck on cafe latte sees candies … helps me not munch on other food all day. lol! and your bagel addiction sounds like my starbucks addiction … i HAVE to have one every day to function. congrats on the 2 pounds!


Leave a Reply

