The Soup Bowl

Tidbits about Jillibean Soup and the life behind the bowl…

Wooden Blocks March 2, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — jyeger @ 11:09 pm
Tags: ,

woodblocks_edit_sm1

 

These were displayed in the “green” case at the CHA show.  When hubby was building the booth, I had him cut some blocks for me to decorate.  I adhered the paper and then he sanded them down with the belt sander.  The paper just melted into the wood and looked great.

 

woodblocks1_edit_sm

woodblocks2_edit_sm

 

Sorry the pictures are too bright.  Too much sunlight coming in the window.  Anyhow,  this was my favorite block…a Valentine’s Day block for hubby.

 

woodblock3_edit_sm1

woodblock4_edit_sm1

 

“Home Tweet Home” blocks…love that “Half & Half” paper!

 

woodblock5_edit_sm

woodblocks6_edit_sm

 

This was intended to be a “Happy Mother’s Day” block but it just turned out to be a “family” block.   The quote on the side says “God could not be everywhere, so he created Mothers”. 

 

Thanks for looking!

signature_sm2

 

32 Responses to “Wooden Blocks”

  1. Rachael Says:

    Those are so cute and how fun that you used the belt sander on them!!

  2. Janet Zeppa Says:

    Oh my!! Does that mean that I have to run out and buy a belt sander?? LOL!

  3. *sigh* – i remember seeing these in the booth – they are equally lovely in the fabulous lighting – i heart kraft paper!

  4. those are wicked cute!!

  5. Cari Locken Says:

    Those are fabulous!! On the belt sander huh? Pretty cool!!

  6. txscrapddict Says:

    Love those! I’ve recycled some of my DS’s blocks for that!

  7. Kimberly Says:

    These are delightful. I may have to get my DH in his wood shop and whip some up for me! lol

  8. Those are beautiful! Makes me want to create some.

  9. Lisa - Funky Fairy Says:

    Oh wow….completely stunning : )

  10. Karen Nuce Says:

    So glad you posted these and they are AWESOME but……..trust me, THEY ARE EVEN BETTER IN PERSON!

    Jill is right, it seems like the paper melts into the wood and they have an organic feel. I bought a few heavy cardboard squares by Making Memories at Hobby Lobby quite awhile ago and never did anything with them but I think they might work for this kind of project…maybe if I painted them a “kraft color” first and then sanded the edges with just sand paper….may try that!

  11. scrappermimi Says:

    What a great idea…would make a terrific teachers gift!

  12. WOW! What a wonderful idea, those are gorgeous.

  13. Patter Cross Says:

    These are adorable!!!! I bet they are so smooth and beautiful in person! And I have always loved that quote! Just wonderful! And I pray your family is back on the mend now! 🙂

  14. tinawerner Says:

    beautiful! looks awesome with the kraft paper!

  15. Ingrid Says:

    These are beautiful. The kraft papers match so well with the wooden blocks. I hope everything will be available here soon. And…how is your family doing? Much better than last weekend I hope. 😉

  16. Christa P. Says:

    Oh those are just great! I love the flower color popping right off of it!

  17. Tricia Says:

    ok, these are seriously stinkin cute!

  18. Sarah Says:

    Love that the kraft paper just totally blends with the blocks.
    So cute and versitile.

    -Sarah

  19. danni Says:

    oh for the love of a belt sander, these are PRECIOUS! my hubby’s going to think i’ve lost it if i put that on the wish list, but it’s be considered now….giggle amazing blocks!!!

  20. Tina Says:

    I love the blocks! I might have to use that!!! Scraplifting time!!!

  21. Heather Says:

    Okay, those are way too pretty! I love the neutral colours with a splash of bright. Nice pick on the Mother quote too.

    I hope that beautiful family of yours is feeling better and you’re getting your sleep, Jill.

  22. Tanya Says:

    wow, wow WOW, these wooden blocks are sooo innovative!!! Great work Jill 🙂

  23. These are gorgeous! I love how the colors are so soft yet it looks so refreshing!

  24. Love these blocks, they look terrific. I was wondering what I could use in place of those hand crafted blocks, they probably have something similar like plain wooden blocks at Michaels or Hobby Lobby. Have a great day………..

  25. AndreaWiebe Says:

    Love those blocks! They all look just amazing 😀

  26. Andrea Amu Says:

    Oh my heck! These are deliriously cute!

  27. Linda Beeson Says:

    I love those decorated blocks! What perfect papers and colors for them.

  28. Dawn Says:

    Love, Love, Love these… GORGEOUS!!!

  29. jyeger Says:

    Hey girls,

    I’ve seen a couple of questions about the blocks. You could use just about anything to do this. Hobby Lobby has a whole section of cardboard shapes. You may be able to find something there.

    Correction on the “belt sander”…it was a orbital sander. I’m obviously “tool” challenged. Without the sander, it would take a while to hand-sand the corners and edges.

    Tina, I will get some close-ups of the blocks. I inked some of the edges after I added the paper. I decided I didn’t like it as well so I sanded some of the ink off.

    Hope this helps!

    Jill

  30. Pamela Says:

    These are very cool! I love them!!!

  31. Sasha Says:

    SOO DIVINE .. LOVE EM **swoon**


Leave a Reply

