The Soup Bowl

Tidbits about Jillibean Soup and the life behind the bowl…

Greetings from Wisconsin…America’s Dairyland :-) November 2, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — jyeger @ 8:36 pm
Tags: ,

Oh, back in the midwest…  Some people call Ohio the midwest but I’m not so sure about that.  The people are nice there. 🙂  I’ve been to Wisconsin several times in the past…mostly with Dean Foods.  I did go rock climbing and hiking in Devil’s Lake a long, long time ago.  I lived in Rockford, IL for several years while working for Dean’s.  Rockford is 10 minutes from the Wisconsin border.

 

I drove up because the flights were astronomical in price!  I enjoyed the drive and listened to Janet Evanovich’s “Metro Girl” on CD.  You can read an exerpt here.  Her books are just plain fun.  There’s usually a mystery to chase down but the characters will make you laugh.  I caught myself laughing out-loud several times.  Ugh, I have heartburn from all the crappy food I ate.  Why is it as soon as I get in a car…it’s time to eat? 

 

It brought back memories driving through Chicago.  Jenn, I thought of you when I drove past Diversey.  Too bad I didn’t go far enough west to stop at Woodfield Mall or IKEA.  It’s been a while since I’ve been up this way.  Anyone want to make a shopping trip to Chicago sometime soon? 

 

Oh, by the way if you’re ever in Wisconsin, try the fried cheddar cheese curds!  Yum!

 

Enough reminiscing…I thought I’d share a layout or two.

Speaking of the midwest and reminiscing.  This is an old layout…no JB Soup paper here.  Just a layout of Grandpa and Leah taking a walk on the farm in Indiana.  There’s that kraft paper again!

This is another old layout.  If you’re ever looking for something to do with all those “left-over” letters…try this.

I will have lots of fun stuff to post this week.  I’ve been gathering more samples of cards and layouts from friends and fellow scrappers.  I’ll be posting more this week! 

 

5 Responses to “Greetings from Wisconsin…America’s Dairyland :-)”

  1. jenn Says:

    Oh, how I MISS Chicago! You brought back some good memories with your post! And you can count me IN on a shopping trip anyday!

  2. Missey Says:

    I think we are headed that way in April or May. Arica has requested a trip to the American Girl store for her Birthday 🙂

    I am sure Leah would love to come!!!

  3. jen t. Says:

    i have never been to that part of the us…it sounds like it is really nice there!thanks for sharing! your layouts are fab.!great pic on the grandpa page!!!

  4. Tracy Says:

    I love your layouts. They are both so adorable. I may be up for a shopping trip. Keep me posted.

  5. Sue Christian Says:

    Jill,

    My daughter lives in Westfeild, Indiana . Oh , and I think Jana can relate to the fried cheese curds !!! LOL She was talking about them at a crop recently and making everyone at the table hungry . lol


Leave a Reply

