The Soup Bowl

Tidbits about Jillibean Soup and the life behind the bowl…

A bit of random thoughts… September 11, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — jyeger @ 8:17 pm
Tags:

Sept 11th…do you remember what you were doing 7 years ago on this day?  I remember it like it was yesterday…

First of all it’s hard to believe that it was 7 years ago today.  I was still working for Dean Foods and traveling some (the year before I flew 80,000 miles).  Eric and I had just moved to Columbus and both had to be at a meeting in Rockford, IL on the 11th.  For some reason we drove instead of flying.  I remember the buzz around the technical center when the first plane struck.  Then more news about the 2nd plane, the Pentagon and flight 93 in PA.  We were dismissed early from work so I sat in my hotel room completely glued to the television.  I didn’t want to get up to eat…I didn’t want to sleep…I was completely mesmerized by what was going on.  I remember getting phone calls from family members making sure I was o.k.  I remember calling around to see if co-workers were on flights.  There were several that were on flights that day…none were on the flights in NY, DC or PA.  My thoughts and prayers go out to the victims and to our soldiers who are still fighting for our freedom.

*********************************************************************************************************

On a much lighter note…there is still a $50 gift certificate up for grabs!!!!  Check here for more information.  All you have to do is tell me your favorite soup and you might win $50 smackers to be used at Scrapbook Art.

*********************************************************************************************************

Speaking of Scrapbook Art – I visited again today.  They had a great weekend and a great week!  Yeah!  Thank you everyone for your support!!!! 

**********************************************************************************************************

Anybody else ready for good TV?  It seems like we got jipped last year with the writer’s strike.  I am so ready for some good shows!  Dancing with the Stars…Grey’s…Housewives…  Yeah!  Does anyone know if Friday Night Lights will be back on?  I loved that show!  Thank goodness Days of Our Lives is on every day. 😉

**********************************************************************************************************

Like I said – random thoughts.  Have a good night everyone!

 

2 Responses to “A bit of random thoughts…”

  1. jenn Says:

    I remember being at the Tech Center too, in the main conference room, trying to get reception on that TV…do you remember? I remember wanting to go back home because I lived near downtown Chicago and we didn’t know what was going on. I remember thinking that the radio announcers (I think I was listening to Mancow on my way to work that morning) were pulling some kind of stupid stunt…

    I was also glued to the TV when I got home..I just couldn’t wrap my head around what was happening. And think about everything that has changed or been affected because of that day 7 years ago….

  2. jyeger Says:

    Yes, I remember wondering if something was going to happen in Chicago too. Sears Towers…John Hancock bldg…


Leave a Reply

