The Soup Bowl

Tidbits about Jillibean Soup and the life behind the bowl…

Exercise or Bagel? July 11, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — jyeger @ 6:00 am
Tags: ,

Hmmm…it’s 5:42am and I actually got up to go spinning today.  This is such a chore for me lately and has definitely been harder since having a 3rd child.  The class starts at 5:45 and Melissa (neighbor) and I usually leave around 5:20am to go claim our bikes.  This morning Melissa slept in (which I did on Wed and do so many other days).  So as I’m going out to my car and noticing that Melissa’s lights aren’t on (my cue that she’s not going) I’m still thinking about going back to bed.  I just don’t have the energy to do this.  It’s been a long week and I’ve stayed up several nights getting work done.  I know…excuses, excuses.  So, I finally convince myself to get in my vehicle and go.  I tell myself…I really need to go.  I really need to exercise.  It will help me feel better.  OK, so I’m driving to class.  I get part way there and have to stop and think about where I’m going.  For a split second, I couldn’t remember!  Jill, you’re tired, if you can’t remember where you’re going – you don’t have the energy to do this.  Quickly (I really didn’t think twice about it), I decide I don’t really want to do this today.  I’m dressed, I have my water bottle and my shoes and I’m almost at the rec center!  Nope, not going.  So, where do I go?  Oh, yeah, I can get a bagel at this hour (Tim Hortons are my favorite as most of you know).  Off to the bagel place.  2 bagels please.  I get one for hubby who has been up all night working on capital budget stuff.  I get home and hubby just looks at me.  Oh well, there’s always tomorrow.

Update: 7:00am…I just got on the scale.  I should have gone spinning!

 

5 Responses to “Exercise or Bagel?”

  1. Missey Says:

    You crack me up!! I am sitting here laughing at you.. (while eating a bacon sandwich I must say)
    Nobody should be up at 5:30 even thinking about spinning!! Are you ill??? or am I just lazy???
    I had a hard enough time rolling out of bed at 8:30 this morning!

    I think you made the right choice :0) hahahaha!!!!!

  2. jenn Says:

    I gotta agree with Missy on this one, Jill. First of all, anyone who is into the self-torture (otherwise known as spinning) is C-R-A-Z-Y! And 2nd of all…..5:30AM??? And 3rd of all…mother of 3 girls? heck, I only have one and can’t fathom waking up for that:)

  3. jen harkin Says:

    Something must be in the air, even here in Iowa…..I normally get up at 4:45 a.m. to go to 5 days a week Boot Camp. On Friday, my alarm went off, I went to the couch, ate a 90 calorie granola bar (although the bagel would have been much better!) and voted to go back to bed. I kind of figure that I have only one week left and I haven’t lost any weight yet! It is kind of nice to get some extra zzz’s and not yell at the girls because I’m crabby tired and sore!

  4. jyeger Says:

    You guys make me smile. See – atleast I’m not like Jen who’s exercising 5 DAYS A WEEK! What’s the matter with you woman? And what – a 90 calorie granola bar? Mmmmm.

  5. jen harkin Says:

    Maybe, I should have mentioned that the 90 calorie bar is my pre-breakfast. I have found that if you eat, let’s just say cookies, I get a little pukey feeling while working out. So, I eat my pre-breakfast and then get home and pig out:)


Leave a Reply

